[Download] ➾ The Furies ➹ Keith Roberts – Thegreatwallonline.us

The Furies They Are Called The Keepers, And The Thing They Guard So Jealously Is Not Material In The Way That Humans Understand The Word It Has Volume But No Shape, Mass But No Size.

[Download] ➾ The Furies  ➹ Keith Roberts – Thegreatwallonline.us
  • Paperback
  • 220 pages
  • The Furies
  • Keith Roberts
  • English
  • 11 August 2017
  • 0140071911 Edition Language English Other Editions 13

10 thoughts on “The Furies


  1. says:

    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers To view it, click here Firstly I will say that this book originally did not appeal to me and I was very sceptical about how good this would actually be I mean giant, mutant wasps. not usually my thing, but after reading the first few sentences I knew this was going to be an interesting read and became pretty hooked.The main character is Bill Sampson and I love the way that Keith Roberts has enabled him to tell the story in a witty, charming, indepth nightmare and emotional rollercoaster of a ride kinda way.The main s Firstly I will say that this book originally did not appeal to me and I was very sceptical about how good this would actually be I mean giant, mutant wasps. not usually my thing, but after reading the first few sentences I knew this was going to be an interesting read and became pretty hooked.The main character is Bill Sampson and I love the way that Keith Roberts has enabled him to tell the story in a witty, charming, indepth nightmare and emotional rollercoaster of a ride kinda way.The main s...


  2. says:

    The Guardian s Keith Roberts obit called this a failed attempt to produce a catastrophe novel in the vein of John Wyndham or John Christopher I see it as something else a catastrophe novel a bit in the vein of The Day of the Triffids, a horror story in which the denizens of the back garden turn against their English masters, and a catastrophe novel a bit in the vein of The Crystal World, a surrealist fantasia in which the landscape is transformed into the embodiment of a dream or nightmare t The Guardian s Keith Roberts obit called this a failed attempt to produce a catastrophe novel in the vein of John Wyndham or John Christopher I see it as something else a catastrophe novel a bit in the vein of The Day of the Triffids, a horror story in which the denizens of the back garden turn against their English masters, and a catastrophe novel a bit in the vein of The Crystal World, a surrealist fantasia in which the landscape is transformed into the embodiment of a dream or nightmare the logic or illogic of which some characters submit tothan willingly The premise is unashamedly nutso nebulous intelligences from outer space use the opportunity of simultaneous, earth shattering nuclear tests to fly among us as giant wasps, enslaving those remnants of humanity they haven t killed and covering a once green and pleasant land with dismal hive metropolises gigantic surrealist umbrellas But the lurid paperback co...


  3. says:

    We both watched the incredible death working its way towards us America and Russia both explode H bombs simultaneously The tests go wrong, cracking the seabed, rupturing continents and engulfing cities, The Thames flattens into a flood plain, London is drowned.Now comes cosmic retribution giant wasps, monstrous and deadly, directed by a supernal intelligence, invade a reeling world In England, isolated guerrillas fight on Blurb from the 1966 Pan paperback editionRoberts is at the literary We both watched the incredible death working its way towards us America and Russia both explode H bombs simultaneously The tests go wrong, cracking the seabed, rupturing continents and engulfing cities, The Thames flattens into a flood plain, London is drowned.Now comes cosmic retribution giant wasps, monstrous and deadly, directed by a supernal intelligence, invade a reeling world In England, isolated guerrillas fight on Blurb from the 1966 Pan paperback editionRoberts is at the literary end of the SF writers spectrum and can be spoken of with the same air of reverence which one reserves for Brian Aldiss, Christopher Priest, M John Harrison and indeed, John Wyndham with whose Day of The Triffids this has to be inevitably compared.Wynd...


  4. says:

    Run for the hills Huge wasps are coming


  5. says:

    This extremely mediocre British cozy catastrophe novel is only impressive for somehow beating Day of the Triffids for the most implausible setup here, instead of blindness AND killer plants coincidentally striking Earth at the same time, it s planet shattering earthquakes AND global swarms of semi intelligent, killer giant wasps The narrator, a reader insert character with no family or background, survives the initial quake and must then deal with the wasps, who can t speak or manipulate o This extremely mediocre British cozy catastrophe novel is only impressive for somehow beating Day of the Triffids for the most implausible setup here, instead of blindness AND killer plants coincidentally striking Earth at the same time, it s planet shattering earthquakes AND global swarms of semi intelligent, killer giant wasps The narrator, a reader insert character with no family or background, survives the initial quake and must then deal with the wasps, who can t speak or manipulate objects, but rule England like fascist occupiers, forcing humans to farm food for them and stinging of course anyone who resists There s many characters with thick regional British accents, a handful of attractive women for the hero to flirt with her breasts pushed softly against the thin material of her shirt , many stiff upper lip WWII Britain references, and lots of scenes of the resourceful hero repairing...


  6. says:

    If I were to choose a book for every year of my life this would be in there for about 1969, when I was 15 This was not long after it was first published It is a terrific fats paced story about human endurance in the face of adversity It is reminiscent of Day of the Triffids via early Dr Who.At the time I had a friend who didn t share my enjoyment of books He couldn t see the point as the books he had been offered were boring I gave him my copy of the Furies and he thought it was great, it g If I were to choose a book for every year of my life this would be in there for about 1969, when I was 15 This was not long after it was first published It is a terrific fats paced story about human endurance in the face of adversity It is reminiscent of Day of the Triffids via early Dr Who.At the time I had a friend who didn t share my...


  7. says:

    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers To view it, click here I have read this several times Basic plot makes for a far better story than it first sounds world taken over by giant wasps yes that s what I said its extremely good Roberts wrote in mid 60 s and it is rather dated but its an excellent and refreshingly different take on the post apolyptic twaddle so often churned out since I ve always found it reads like it should be book 1 and 2, as there is a very sudden plot...


  8. says:

    This was like reading a ScyFy creature feature without all the terrible acting Very enjoyablethe characters were interesting and the action never let up My only problem was the ending explanation that was a little weak and unsatisfying Otherwise a very enjoyable diversion.


  9. says:

    Surprisingly good I d have given it a 5 bit I can t really justify ranking a book about giant killer wasps as high as my other 5s Yep, a book about giant wasps that take over earth And it was actually a very good read Mental


  10. says:

    his first novel very pulp, dated writing later, he got over that g

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *